top of page
  • Writer's picturesilvansims

New Year and new inspiration

I ended my year head full of Sims, as I bought Sims 4 Get Famous, Seasons and Jungle Adventure on sale without much thinking. After playing a few days I went back to Sims 3 and had so much new stuff to test out. After a long while I managed to actually build something rather than just googling and downloading CC. I found absolutely lovely build mode items that finally makes the game look like home. I can't believe it took so many years, they were right under my nose! So here's a sneak a peek to what I've been using my holidays.

My stable to be ♥ I spent three days looking for the round pole fence by Gelina, so I had to use them straight away. The building is inspired by a stable in my home "town", and I think this one is the third version of it. Lewis's Luukas, my new Finnhorse stallion, already made his home there. I'm really happy with the big barn doors and the ramp to the attic that I tried years ago and failed at making.

The base of this house is not my own, it was some sort of a tropical bungalow, but I liked the shape and "Finnished" it. I can't figure out what age or type this building would be, but it was fun to make.

This is an old mill from my home, but I'm really not happy with it. There's supposed to be a bakery indoors, but I didn't bother to continue with it before I figure out what to do with the exterior. I'm not keen on fighting with the floor levels in a while.

I saw a picture of a cute old school building and I just had to try it. Again, the upper level was fighting with the floor level, and the house is a mess inside. There's a small classroom for all the pupils in the school and a small apartment for the schoolmarm. You can see the red line in the upper floor windows that are caused by lowering the floor to have enough room for the roof look good. Maybe I should decide to do buildings that look right on the outside just look on the outside and not care about actually using the building. It's not like I ever play anyway.

I was testing out the new walls I found, and this house turned out to look like my cousins house. Yep, buildings tend to be just boxes here in Finland. Next time I should count the wall widths to match the windows. I was making a kitchen to the right end of the house, and placing windows so that they match the kitchens needs was ridiculous. I don't know why I've been using the patio so much lately, I hate that it can't be CASt'ed.

I came across a beautiful prefab house someone else tried to remake in the Sims 3 and wanted to make it testing out new windows, fences and pillars I have. I like it and I'm going to do it in red too. You can't see the roof or the strais under the snow, but they match better red than blue. The foundation is still a bit of a mystery, but I keep it gray toned in this blue one. The upper floor doesn't have enough windows, so I'm going to make another with different roofing. And count the walls to match my double doors... The smallest door is now double and the main doors are both one tile doors. Dumd. And again those unCASt'able patios... By the way, if you find bigger windows, I'd really appreciate it.

Okay, I'm making summer holiday plans already and made this one for the summer. I can't understand why the quality of the pictures is so low, the most perfect apple tree is just a mess in this pic. This is a special type of house that's common in Finland. At least in Sweden, Denmark and Finland there's a word for a "House Type House", Typehouse, meaning a house design that any builder can use with building instructions and counting of material consumption. They were made from the twenties to the sixties, when element houses became more common. The first Finnish design fit on an A4 paper.

Back to this house. This is a house build after the wars, and you can see the same base repeated all over again in houses of that era. It's 1,5 floors high and has a basement, a cold porch, four rooms on the first floor with one being a separated kitchen (very uncommon, you know) and two bedroom upstairs. Except in this one, because there wasn't enough room, d'ough. The shape of the house is usually a square. These buildings weren't traditional Finnish building, but to me, this is pretty much as Finnish as can be, beside from "red soil" (punamulta, "falu" as the Swedes call it) painted log houses. I couldn't find a better red roof, so it is as it is.

This was a super short introduction to Finnish buildings. I'm so exited! For sure there's more red and blue buildings to come, and I haven't even touched the yellow!

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dear Santa...

Here's my long wish list for Christmas. I found it more useful to write it here because I couldn't shorten the links on Tumblr. I couldn't believe my luck to get a Santa who likes to do original CC an

The "Finnish up your game" link list

I'm dreaming of making "The Nordics Expansion Pack" with a custom world, lots and CC, but that's a long time project. Feel free to ask for more or offer help. I can't do the logo myself anyway. But un

bottom of page